OPLA 2018 Annual General Meeting Metro Toronto Convention Centre Thursday, January 31 2020, 7:45am-9:00am

Agenda

Presiding: Cortney LeGros, OPLA 2018 President

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Adoption of the agenda

Moved Sarah Hart Seconded Douglas Davey

3. Approval of the Minutes of the 2017 OPLA Annual General Meeting

Moved Gillian Byrne Seconded Elizabeth Malak

4. Acceptance of the treasurer's report (divisional budget) Jennifer reviewed the year's financials.

Moved Erika Heeson Seconded Douglas Davey

5. President's Report

Cortney provided highlights from the previous year. The Child and Youth Services Committee completed the Teen Services Benchmarking and Statistical Report. A Survey Committee will be struck to identify target areas of research for the years to come. There will be a call out for members. This was the first year the Child and Youth Services Expo was expanded from a one day, to a two day event in Scarborough. The Readers Advisory Committee once again held their RA in a Day event which moved away from a genre specific event, and focused on social media and taking reading online. Best Bets Committee continued to promote their yearly recommended Canadian book choices of the year. OLA and OPLA council have been hard at work with the Minister of Tourism Culture and Sport. A group from the OLA board met with the Deputy Minister Nancy Matthews in September to welcome her to the role and advocate on behalf of public libraries in Ontario. OLA was also in contact with Minster the Honorable Michael Tibollo to ensure a continued voice for our libraries. OPLA is working on an information brief containing helpful advocacy tools that will assist local needs and municipal advocacy.

Moved Elizabeth Malak Seconded Gillian Byrne

6. Committee Reports

OPLA received committee reports from Reader's Advisory, Best Bets, Community-Led, and Child and Youth Services.

Moved Vivien Keiling Seconded Cameron Ray

7. Introduction of new council and thank you to outgoing council members by Elizabeth Malak, 2019 OPLA President

Elizabeth welcomed new members of council

Erika Heeson, Vice-President/President Elect Elaine Bird, Councillor-Central East Ardis Proulx-Chedore, Councillor – Northeastern Kelly Thompson, Councillor – Eastern

Members leaving council

Jennifer Lachapelle, Past President + Treasurer Karen Bisschop, Councillor-Central East Region Karina Douglas-Takayesu, Councillor - Northeastern Region

Moved Erika Heeson Seconded Gilliam Byrne

8. Adjournment

Moved Elizabeth Malak