

Ken Haycock Award For Promoting Librarianship

In 2007, Dr. Ken Haycock generously donated to the former Canadian Library Association (CLA) to establish an award for promoting librarianship. With the dissolution of CLA in 2016, OLA accepted a transfer of the funds to continue presenting the award. The Canadian Urban Libraries Council (CULC/CBUC) will be leading the Nominations process on behalf of the Award and OLA.

Nomination Process

Submit a letter explaining how the nominee meets the criteria below. Please provide specific examples. Your letter must include:

- The nominators name and contact information
- The nominee's name and contact information

Submit nominations to: info@culc.ca with the subject line containing the nomination title and the nominee's name.

Nominations are due December 1st by 12:00pm EST.

Criteria

The Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship is awarded to a candidate who has demonstrated exceptional success in enhancing the public recognition and appreciation of librarianship. This may have been accomplished through:

- · Exceptional practice as a librarian;
- Teaching the profession in formal and informal settings: or
- Writing

Selection will also be based on the nominee's demonstrated actions as an Ambassador and role model for librarianship.

Other considerations

- The award recognizes exceptional achievement outside of the usual awareness activity a professional is expected to do.
- Nominees may be from any Canadian province or territory.

Selection

A Nominations Committee representing different types of libraries will be formed each year. The committee will make a recommendation to the OLA Board of Directors for ratification. Where nominated candidates do not achieve the level of success deemed necessary by the Nominations Committee, the Award will not be presented.

Presentation

The award will be presented in conjunction with the appropriate Conference or Library Event of the recipient's type of library.

Award

The Award includes a cash prize of \$1000, in addition to a plaque recognizing the recipient's achievement.

ola

:. ontario library association

Past Recipients

2018	Sandra Singh, Vancouver Public Library
2017	Jeff Barber, Regina Public Library
2016	Not awarded

2015 Leslie Weir, University of Ottawa

2014 Not awarded

2013 Ernie Ingles, University of Alberta 2012 Pilar Martinez, Edmonton Public Library

2011 Wendy Newman, University of Toronto 2010 Allan Wilson, Prince George Public Library

2009 Karen Lindsay, Reynolds Secondary School, Victoria BC

2008 The Alberta Library