## History of Friends of Canadian Libraries - 1998-2016

Friends of Canadian Libraries (FOCAL) officially formed in 1998 and ended operations in 2016. It was a national association for Friends of Library groups across Canada. Our volunteer Executive Committee and Regional Directors provided conference programming, regional workshops, the FOCAL Point Newsletter and website and a variety of other events, programs and resources.

Our official sponsor was Random House of Canada. The annual Gabriele Schreiber Friends of the Year Award, sponsored by Random House Canada was a much sought-after form of recognition.

One of the events leading up to the formation of our national association was a special Friends' Day program at the Canadian Library Association conference in 1997. The Canadian Library Trustees Association and the Canadian Association of Public Libraries co-sponsored the program. The themes of fundraising, advocacy and community building were considered very relevant.

Trustees and Friends met over a "working lunch" which included a brainstorming session to examine the options for Friends' organizations in Canada. The final Friends Day session looked at the political landscape, a vision of the future and proposed an action plan. Friends' Day at CLA occurred during a time when Friends groups in Ontario were moving towards forming a provincial association. Val Marshall was one individual leading that movement. Rather than form a provincial association in Ontario, the decision was made to investigate the possibility of forming a national association.

The Friends Day program at CLA, and subsequent meetings during the 1998 Ontario Library Association Superconference, convinced members of a newly formed Steering group that a national association was viable.

Members of that early Steering group included:

Val Marshall, Trustees and Friends of the Ajax Public Library

Diane Neitzel, Friends of the Nepean Public Library

Gary Archibald (Nova Scotia) CLTA President

Karen Harrison, past President Canadian Library Association (Alberta)

Valerie Ethier, Friends of the Victoria Public Library (British Columbia)

Ken Sparling, Public Relations and Planning, North York Public Library

Jim Sebastian, Chair of the Friends Advocacy Committee, Hamilton Friends of the Library

Sylvia Teasdale, Co-odinator Community Services, Nepean Public Library

Marie Zelinska , Friends of the Ottawa Public Library Corporate: Gabriele Schreiber of Random House of Canada

Our Annual General Meeting the following year, elected our inaugural Executive and Board of Directors:

## **Executive:**

President Val Marshall – Friends of the Ajax Public Library Vice-President Jami Van Haaften – Friends of the Sudbury Public

Library

Secretary Ken Sparling – Toronto Public Library – North

York

Treasurer Tom Foulkes – Smiths Falls Friends of the

Library

## **Board of Directors:**

Western Canada

Lee Teal, Sooke, BC

**Prairies** 

Nicholas Spillios, Friends of the Edmonton Public Library Central Canada

Dianne Neitzel, Friends of the Nepean Public Library Eric Moore, Friends of the Ottawa Public Library Atlantic Canada Yvonne Le Blanc, Friends of the Clare Public Library, Nova Scotia

Canadian Library Trustees Association Representative Gary Archibald, Western Counties Regional Library Canadian Association of Public Libraries Representative Sylvia Teasdale, Nepean Public Library Canadian Library Association Representative Michael Burris, Vancouver

Friends of Canadian Libraries was incorporated as a federal notfor-profit organization and also became a registered charity.

Past Presidents:
Val Marshall
Jami van Haaften
Peggy Hiscock
Nicholas Spillios
Dorothy Macnaughton
Carol Humphries

Treasurers:
Tom Foulkes
Val Marshall
Lois Magahay
Jami van Haaften
Kevin Risk

Secretary:
Ken Sparling
Heather Graham
Dorothy Macnaughton
Ian White
Jocelyn MacNiel

Regional Directors

Lee Teal BC

Eric Moore ON
Dianne Neitzel ON
Yvonne Le Blanc NS
Sylvia Teasdale (CAPL)
Gary Archibald (CLTA)
Michael Burris (CLA)
Nicholas Spillios AB
Nancy Goodman ON
Margaret Main ON
Bryon Merrett NS
Sylvia Teasdale (CAPL)
Gary Archibald (CLTA)
Michael Burris (CLA)

Jocelyn McNeil BC
Nicholas Spillios AB
Maureen Johnson ON
Margaret Main ON
Bryon Merrett NS
Sylvia Teasdale (CAPL)
Gary Archibald (CLTA)
Michael Colborne (CLA)
Jocelyn McNeil BC
Nicholas Spillios AB
Maureen Johnson ON
Margaret Main ON
Bryon Merrett NS

Sylvia Teasdale (CAPL)
Michael Weidlich (CLTA)
Michael Colborne (CLA)
Jocelyn McNeil BC
Nicholas Spillios AB
Michael Weidlich (CLTA)
Michael Colborne (CLA)
Jocelyn McNeil BC
Nicholas Spillios AB
Jim Nicol ON

Peggy Hiscock NS

Pat Jobb (CLA)

Rick Walker (CAPL)

Jocelyn McNeil BC

Nicholas Spillios AB

Jim Nicol ON

Peggy Hiscock NS

Pat Jobb (CLA)

Rick Walker (CAPL)

Jocelyn McNeil BC

Nicholas Spillios AB

Jim Nicol ON

Peggy Hiscock NS

Jocelyn McNeil BC

Nicholas Spillios AB

Glen White NS

Pat Jobb (CLA)

Rick Walker (CAPL)

Jocelyn McNeil BC

Lorraine Doiron BC

Letty Last MB

Lori Nash ON

Ian White NS

Jocelyn McNeil BC

Lorraine Doiron BC

Letty Last MB

Lori Nash ON

Ian White NS

Jocelyn McNeil BC

Lorraine Doiron BC

Lori Nash ON

Ian White NS

Jocelyn McNeil BC

Lorraine Doiron BC

Lori Nash ON

Ian White NS