

The OLA Media and Communications Award

The OLA Media and Communications Award was established to reward individuals and companies that present libraries and librarians in a constructive light, breaking down stereotypical images often associated with the profession. To qualify, the coverage must appear in Canadian magazines, newspapers or journals, be heard on Canadian radio stations, be viewed on Canadian television, or be on Canadian web sites. Any OLA member may suggest a candidate for the award. The final decision rests with the OLA Board of Directors.

Past Recipients

2023	#SchoolLibraryJoy Social Media & T Shirt Design Campaign
2022	Not awarded
2021	Not awarded
2020	Stephen Hurley, VoicED Radio
2019	Not awarded
2018	Mary Baxter, Producer and Steve Paikin, Host: TVO's The Agenda
2017	Anne Marie Madziak, Southern Ontario Library Service
2016	100.9 Canoe FM
2015	The Grand FM 32.9, CBC Radio 1
2014	Michael Dawber, CEO, Rainy River Public Library
2013	Toronto Public Library Workers Union Local 4948
2012	MIchael Lajoie-Wilkinson, Student, Windsor-Essex Catholic District School
	Board
2011	Toronto Public Library, Make Some Noise project
2010	Ann Seidl for Hollywood Librarian
2005	Nancy Pearl, Seattle Public Library Centre for the Book
2004	John Lorinc, freelance writer and parent
1999	Writers of Due South (television)
1993	BDO Dunwoody