OLBA W.J. Robertson Medallion Public Librarian of the Year

The W.J. Robertson Medallion is presented by the Ontario Library Boards' Association to a public librarian who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in the advancement of public library service in Ontario.

William John Robertson was a founding member of the Ontario Library Association. The thirty three "originals" that established the first constitution at the first Annual meeting of the Association in April, 1901, were a very distinguished and active group and W.J. Robertson was among the most prominent.

Robertson became the fourth President of the Association in 1905 - the first trustee to be elected into the position. Robertson was twice chair of the St. Catharines Free Library Board.

This provincial award recognizes and honours significant contributions to the library profession. The President of the Ontario Library Boards Association presents the medallion at the annual Public Library Awards dinner held in conjunction with the Ontario Library Association's annual Super Conference.

Past Recipients

- 2023 Margie Singleton, Vaughan Public Libraries
- 2022 Not awarded
- 2021 Not awarded
- 2020 Steven Kraus, Ontario Library Service
- 2019 Cathy Grant, Pickering Public Library
- 2018 Catherine Biss, Markham Public Library
- 2017 Karen DeLuca, Arnprior Public Library
- 2016 Rebecca Jones, Brampton Public Library
- 2015 Not awarded
- 2014 Lester Webb, Kingston Frontenac Public Library
- 2013 Ian Ross, Whitby Public Library
- 2012 Margaret Rule, Middlesex County Public Library
- 2011 Margaret Sedgwick of Fort Frances Public Library
- 2010 Adele Kostiak, Brampton Public Library
- 2009 Wilhelm Eisenbichler, Sault Ste. Marie Public Library
- 2008 Sharron Smith, Kitchener Public Library
- 2007 Brian Bell, AlouetteCanada and the Oakville Public Library
- 2006 Paul Takala, Hamilton Public Library
- 2005 Geoffrey P. Nie, Ajax Public Library
- 2004 Barbara Taylor, St Marys Public Library
- 2003 Rosemary Bonanno, Vaughan Public Libraries



- 2002 Margaret Scratch, Southern Ontario Library Service
- 2001 Barbara Clubb, Ottawa Public Library/Bibliothèque d'Ottawa
- 2000 Ken Setterington, Toronto Public Library
- 1999 Alexander A. (Sandy) Cameron, Pickering Public Library
- 1998 Mary Podolyak, Wainfleet Public Library
- 1997 Doris Brown, Atikokan Public Library
- 1996 Gerda Molson, Niagara-on-the-Lake Public Library
- 1995 Not awarded
- 1994 Not awarded
- 1993 Jane Horrocks, Richmond Hill Public Library
- 1992 Fred Israel, Windsor Public Library
- 1991 Justin Sainte, King Township Public Library
- 1990 Laurine Tremain, Parry Sound Public Library
- 1989 Stan Skrzeszewski, Southern Ontario Library Service
- 1988 Moti Tahiliani, Lindsay Public Library
- 1987 Ronald Baker, CEO, Ontario Library Consortium
- 1986 Elizabeth Cummings, Lincoln Public Library
- 1985 William Partridge, Huron County Public Library
- 1984 Jean Orpwood, Director, North York Public Library
- 1983 Dorothy Templin, CORLS
- 1982 Anne Nyland, Cornwall Public Library
- 1981 Alan Pepper, Northwestern RLS, Thunder Bay
- 1980 Eleanor Donnelly, London Public Library
- 1979 Ilene Male, Oakville Public Library
- 1978 Louise Schryver, Chatham Public Library
- 1977 Harry Campbell, Toronto Public Library
- 1976 Patricia Hart, Richmond Hill Public Library
- 1975 Karen Smith, Sir Frederick Banting Secondary School, London Board of Education
- 1974 James Brown, Waterloo Public Library
- 1973 Gladys Western, Grimsby Public Library
- 1972 E. Stanley Beacock, Midwestern Regional Library System
- 1971 June Munro, St. Catharines Public Library
- 1970 Sadie Jordan, Toronto Public Library
- 1969 Dan Sudar, Lakehead University
- 1968 R. Brian Land, School of Library Science, University of Toronto