## **OSLA AGM Minutes**

## February 9<sup>th</sup>, 2023

## 6:00-7:00 pm (Zoom)

Presiding: Beth Lyons

- 1. Welcome -Beth Lyons present Johanna Lawler, Ruth Gretsinger, Mel Mulcaster, Lisa Lewis, Richard Reid, Dawn Telfer, Heather Webb Makin, Diana Malisewski, Sue Matthews, Stephanie Pimentel, Wendy Burch Jones, Sheila Grantham,
- 2. Adoption of the agenda Moved Diana Seconded Mel Passed
- 3. Approval of the Minutes of the 2022 OSLA Annual General Meeting Moved Richard Seconded Wendy Passed
- 4. Acceptance of the OSLA Treasurer's Report Given by Stephanie 96% Moved Johanna Seconded Sue Passed
- 5. The 2022 President's Report Given by Beth Lyons Moved Diana Seconded Wendy Passed
- 6. New Business/Resolutions [there were no resolutions put forth by the membership]
- 7. Election Report

Johanna Lawler is our new President for 2023.

I would like to welcome the following new council members (list names, positions and library).

Wendy Burch-Jones, TDSB was acclaimed as the Vice-President/President Elect. Lisa Lewis, TDSB - was acclaimed for the Toronto Region Richard Reid, DDSB- was acclaimed for the Mid Central Region Sue Matthews, OCDSB- was acclaimed for the Eastern Region

**Vacancy**-Northern Region (Algoma, Cochrane, Nipissing, Parry Sound, Sudbury, Timiskaming, Kenora, Rainy River, Thunder Bay, North of Superior)

Returning OSLA Council members for 2023-Ruth Gretsinger - Central West Region Dawn Telfer - South Western Region Shelley Merton - Central East Region Kasey Whalley - Teaching Librarian Editor-in-Chief

We will be saying goodbye to Maureen McGrath who held the role of Past President/Treasurer for the 2022 year. She has been a guide and a mentor throughout the past few years for all of the OSLA Council and myself especially. As current president, I will be moving into this role.

We are also saying goodbye to:

Heather Webb-Makin-Toronto Region Melanie Mulcaster - Mid Central Cathy MacKechnie-Eastern Region

Your commitment, dedication and ongoing advocacy for school libraries is a joy to behold. Thanks you to our Super Conference Planners, Dawn Telfer and Kate Johnson-MaGregor for their hard work in bringing the conference back in person with an enhanced digital stream.

Moved Johanna Seconded Lisa Passed

- 8. Awards Report
- Ken Haycock Super Conference Grant Awarded to: Allie Barrett, ALCDSB
- OSLA Lifetime Achievement Award (also shared at the OSLA Spotlight- OLASC) OLA Closing Keynote

Awarded to: Caroline Freibauer (posthumous)

• #SchoolLibraryJoy Social Media and Tee Shirt Campaign was nominated for the OLA Media and Communications Award

Accepted on behalf of OSLA by Beth Lyons at the OSLA Spotlight- OLASC)

Moved Richard Seconded Wendy Passed

9. Discussion with Members

What would you like your division to consider for this year? Was there an initiative from your council that you would like to comment on? Do you have any questions for the council?

10. Adjournment Moved Diana Passed.

Discussion: SchoolLibraryJoy Vinyl Stickers, Lanyards, buttons Third round of tshirts I support School Libraries - possible tie in with SLJ

March 6th Johanna Meeting with Dr. ABC got the OSSTF grant

Letter to Peel re: Library Coordinator position