

:. ontario library association

The OLA Les Fowlie Intellectual Freedom Award

The Ontario Library Association Board of Directors established the Award for Intellectual Freedom in 1997 to recognize the courage shown by individuals and organizations in defending the rights of library patrons to full access to information. In 2000, the Award was renamed the Les Fowlie Intellectual Freedom Award in memory of the former Chief Librarian of Toronto Public Library whose efforts on behalf of intellectual freedom in Canada are legendary.

Past Recipients

2025	Annie McClelland, Book and Periodical Council
2019	James Turk, Centre for Free Expression, Ryerson University
2018	Vickery Bowles, Toronto Public Library
2017	Graduate Resource Centre, Faculty of Information and Media Studies, Western University
2016	Dorothy Mcnaughton
2015	Kathy Scardellato, Ontario Council of University Libraries
2014	Progressive Librarians Guild - Greater Toronto Area
2013	No recipient
2012	Margaret Ann Wilkinson, University of Western Ontario
2011	Patricia Aldana, Groundwood Books
2010	The Book & Periodical Council, Freedom to Read Expression Committee
2009	Dr. Michael Geist, Canada Research Chair of Internet and E-commerce Law, University of Ottawa.
2008	Bernard Katz, now retired, former senior director at the University of

Guelph McLaughlin Library and a deep contributor to the OLA's work on

intellectual freedom and copyright, both areas in which he has deep and abiding wisdom.

2000 Toronto Public Library for publication and distribution of "Young Voices from the Street"

1998 The Halton Board of Education

1997 Burlington Public Library Staff and Board