

The OLA President's Award for Exceptional Achievement

The President's Award for Exceptional Achievement acknowledges an outstanding action or contribution that has in a major or unique way enhanced or furthered librarianship in Ontario. The selection is at the full discretion of the President of the OLA. Awards are only given if there is something of true historic significance to recognize.

Past Recipients

| 2025 | Anastasia Shawnoo, Kettle and Stoney Point First Nation |
|------|--|
| 2024 | Shelagh Paterson |
| 2023 | First Nation Public Library Librarians |
| 2022 | 2021 Super Conference Planning Committee |
| 2020 | John Paul and Kaleb – Fay and Fluffy |
| 2019 | Mary Lou Souter, Mississippi Mills Public Library Board |
| 2018 | Dr. Guy Berthiaume, Library and Archives Canada/ Bibliothèque et Archives Canada |
| 2017 | Forest of Reading® Program, Ontario Library Association |
| 2016 | OLA Governance Review Committee, Ontario Library Association |
| 2015 | Leading Learning Project, Canadian Library Association |
| 2014 | Liz Kerr, Super Conference Coordinator, Ontario Library Association |
| 2013 | Together for Learning Project (T4L) |
| | Contributors: |
| | Anita Brooks Kirkland, Waterloo District School Board |
| | Roberta Henley, Grand Erie District School Board (retired) |
| | Carol Koechlin, Library Consultant |
| | Diana Maliszewski, Toronto District School Board |
| | Larry Moore, Ontario Library Association (retired) |
| | Ester Rosenfeld, Ontario Library Association ((2007 President) |
| | Peggy Thomas, Ontario Library Association ((2009 President) |
| | Michael Budd, Professional Learning Facilitator |
| | Timothy Gauntley, Toronto District School Board (retired) Cathi Gibson-Gates, OISE |
| | Wayne Hamilton, Toronto District School Board (retired) |
| | Michelle Regina, York Catholic District School Board |
| | Michael Rossettis, York Catholic District School Board |
| | Hetty Smeathers, York Catholic District School Board |
| | Lisa Weaver, Toronto District School Board |
| | |

Advisory Consultants:

Ray Doiron, Faculty of Education, University of Prince Edward Island Ken Haycock, School of Library and Information Science, San Jose State University

David Loertscher, School of Library and Information Science, San Jose

:. ontario library association

State University

Ross J. Todd, Department of Library and Information Science, Rutgers University

Debra Wallace, Knowledge and Library Services, Harvard Business School David Warlick, The Landmark Project

Special thanks to supporter: Ruth Hall, president, OSLA 2009 - 10

This project was developed by the Ontario School Library Association with the support of the Literacy and Numeracy Secretariat of the Government of Ontario's Ministry of Education.

- 2012 Jim Brett, University of Guelph
- 2011 Wendy Newman, University of Toronto, Faculty of Information
- 2010 Eric Walters and Deborah Ellis
- 2009 The "Working Together" project. Project partners: Vancouver Public Library, Regina Public Library, Toronto Public Library and Halifax Public Libraries.
- 2008 Knowledge Ontario
- 2007 The Partnership
- The Ontario Council of University Libraries for The Scholar's Portal Be the Change Project
- 2003 Roch Carrier, National Librarian of Canada and Charles Baillie, TD Bank Financial Group
- To library teams that have worked together to provide extraordinary leadership and remarkable results in the legislated amalgamation of library systems and services.
- Peel Board of Education, the first school board in Canada to put a full-time teacher-librarian in every school.
- 1990 Elizabeth Hoffman, Chair, Ontario Public Library Strategic Planning Group, for the creation of Ontario's first public library strategic plan and for the innovative involvement of the Ontario public library community in its development.

Lionel Koffler, Firefly Books, for his innovative advocacy against the application of the Goods and Services Tax to books, most specifically for the creativity and investment in the innovative "I Tax Books" postage stamps.