

OPLA James Bain Medallion Public Library Board Member of the Year

The James Bain Medallion is awarded to a library board member who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in governing a public library in Ontario. This annual province wide award recognizes and honours the best contributions and efforts of board members who govern public libraries. James Bain was the first President of the Ontario Library Association in 1901 and Chief Librarian of the Toronto Public Library. This is not always awarded on an annual basis.

Award Presentation

The award is presented by the President of the Ontario Public Library Association at the Public Library Award Gala held in conjunction with the Ontario Library Association's annual Super Conference in Toronto.

Past Recipients

- 2025 Adrian Graham, Springwater Township Public Library Board
- 2024 Paul Ainslie, Toronto Public Library Board
- 2023 Rose Savage, Vaughan Public Libraries Board
- 2022 Not awarded
- 2021 Not awarded
- 2019 Patricia Symon, Bruce County Public Library
- 2018 Shelagh Harris, Richmond Hill Public Library
- 2017 Donald Lynch, Six Nations Public Library Board
- 2016 Gary Price, Cambridge Public Library Board/Idea Exchange
- 2015 No recipient
- 2014 Joyce Cunningham, Fort Frances Public Library Board
- 2013 Jane Hilton, Whitby Public Library Board
- 2011 Irene Moore, Terrace Bay Public Library Board; Jan Harder, Ottawa Public Library Board
- 2010 Claudette Richardson, Kingston Frontenac Public Library Board Dr. John J. Flynn, Seguin Public Library Board
- 2008 Joyce Smith, Clearview Public Library Board
- 2007 Suzanne Culp, Lincoln Public Library Board
- 2006 Jan Perfect, North Bay Public Library Board
- 2005 Ethan Mings, Lincoln Public Library Board
- 2004 Sharon Stroud, Haldimand Public Library Board; Rick Goldsmith, Toronto Public Library Board
- 2003 Carman Dix, Niagara Falls Public Library Board
- 2002 Marcel Giroux, Kingston Frontenac Public Library Board
- 2001 Jim MacDonald, Brantford Public Library Board
- 2000 Gwen MacDougall, North Bay Public Library
- 1999 Hilary Bates Neary, London Public Library Board; Margaret MacLean, Thunder Bay Public Library Board
- 1998 Elizabeth Buckingham, Ottawa Public Library Board





- 1997 Edmundo Vàsquez, Toronto Public Library Board
- 1996 Elizabeth (Elsie) Dugard, Geraldton Public Library Board
- 1995 Bruce Walker, St. Catharines Public Library Board
- 1993 Anne Van Wyngaarden, Wainfleet Public Library Board
- 1992 Hervé Casault, Gloucester Public Library Board
- 1991 Armand Landry, Smooth Rock Falls Public Library Board
- 1990 Eileen Hammill, Guelph Public Library Board
- 1989 Leah Mitchell, Grand Valley Public Library Board
- 1988 Sheryl Taylor-Munro, Toronto Public Library Board
- 1987 Jack Kippen, Lennox & Addington County
- 1986 Ernest Coté, Ottawa Public Library Board
- 1985 George Court, Metropolitan Toronto Library Board
- 1984 Margaret Andrewes, Lincoln Public Library Board