Forest of Reading

Evergreen Voting Now Open!

Voting for the Evergreen Award program is now open and happens during the month of September.

We leave the voting requirements to the discretion of those running the program to determine eligibility.

You have until September 30 at midnight to get your votes in!

Submit your votes and help select this year’s Evergreen Award winner.

Download the Ballot  |  Download the Tracking Sheet

Submit your votes!

Congratulations to the 2021 Forest of Reading Award Winners!
Congratulations to the 2021 Forest of Reading Award Winners, presented at the Forest of Reading Award ceremonies on May 18, 19, and 20, streamed on Curio in partnership with CBC Books, hosted by Ali Hassan.
Missed the ceremonies? They are available to watch on Curio!
2021 Blue Spruce Award™ – Watch Ceremony
WINNER – Watch Interview with Winner
2021 Silver Birch Express Award® – Watch Ceremony
WINNER – Watch Interview with Winner
2021 Silver Birch Fiction Award® – Watch Ceremony
WINNER – Watch Interview with Winner
2021 Yellow Cedar Award – Watch Ceremony
2021 Red Maple Award™ – Watch Ceremony
WINNER – Watch Interview with Winner
2021 White Pine Award™ – Watch Ceremony
WINNER – Watch Interview with Winner
Le prix Peuplier 2021 – Watch Ceremony
Le prix Mélèze 2021 – Watch Ceremony
Le prix Tamarac 2021 – Watch Ceremony
Congratulations to the 2021 Forest of Reading® Evergreen Award Nominees!

The Ontario Library Association’s (OLA) Forest of Reading is excited to present this year’s nominees for its adult program, the Evergreen Award.

The 2021 nominees for the Evergreen Award are:

  • Broken Man on a Halifax Pier by Lesley Choyce (Dundurn Press)
  • Five Little Indians by Michelle Good (HarperCollins Publishers Ltd)
  • I Overcame My Autism and All I Got Was This Lousy Anxiety Disorder: A Memoir by Sarah Kurchak (Douglas & McIntyre Ltd.)
  • Indians on Vacation by Thomas King (HarperCollins Publishers Ltd)
  • The Library of Legends by Janie Chang (HarperCollins Publishers Ltd)
  • Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Del Rey)
  • Rebent Sinner by Ivan Coyote (Arsenal Pulp Press)
  • Seven by Farzana Doctor (Dundurn Press)
  • The Skin We’re In: A Year of Black Resistance and Power by Desmond Cole (Doubleday Canada)
  • They Said This Would Be Fun: Race, Campus Life, and Growing Up by Eternity Martis (McClelland & Stewart)

The Evergreen Award program is a perfect way for public libraries and book clubs to engage with best titles in Canadian fiction and non-fiction. It is one of ten programs that form the OLA’s Forest of Reading, Canada’s largest recreational reading program of its kind with over 270,000 Canadians participating each year.

Read the full press release here.

Check out Evergreen’s past winners and nominees.

Registration for the 2022 Forest of Reading Program Opens October 1st!

The low one-time annual fee allows you to run all 10 Forest of Reading programs with as many readers as you want – whether you have six readers, or 600!

The Forest is driven and funded by registration fees, and is designed to provide quality online literacy and reading engagement resources that can be used at home, in the classroom or library with registration.

With your registration, you’ll gain access to our exclusive password protected portion of the site, filled with ready-to-use resources and materials, as well as access to the virtual content with nominees that will kick off at the beginning of 2022.

The Forest of Reading provides curated award lists and book resources across all age groups.
Readers can get copies of the nominated books through their local library, any book retailer offering delivery or Tinlids, the official wholesaler of the Forest.