Who We Are

Founded in 1900, the Ontario Library Association (OLA) is the oldest continually operating non-profit library association in Canada.
With more than 4,000 members, the OLA is the largest library association in the country. We provide the chance for library workers and supporters to share their experience and expertise while creating innovative solutions in a constantly changing environment. We offer opportunities for learning, networking, recognizing, influencing and celebrating within the library world.

A Who’s Who of Library Leadership: The Presidents of the Ontario Library Association
Whether in a formal library setting, in a commercial setting or in government, we are the people who bring information to the people of Ontario. We are experts in the organization of information and ideas and supports to research and development. We are:

  • Librarians
  • Technicians
  • School administrators
  • Publishers and producers
  • Protectors of the culture
  • Directors
  • Front line staff
  • Teacher-librarians
  • Authors
  • Friends of libraries
  • Community catalysts
  • Systems specialists
  • Financial officers
  • Library suppliers
  • Subject specialists
  • Information brokers

Our Mission

We empower our members in the library and information services sectors to build informed, participatory, and inclusive communities through:


Our Vision and Values

OLA is leading and inspiring the growth and innovation of the library and information services sector. Our set of guiding values has stood the test of time and continue to guide us in our work.

How OLA is Organized

The OLA is governed by a board of directors that is comprised of:

  • The board executive committee; vice-president, president, past president, and treasurer
  • The past president of each of the 7 OLA divisions
  • 3 Member at Large positions
  • The Executive Director (ex-officio) who is responsible for the operations of OLA and reports to the OLA Board of Directors

Members of OLA are also a member of one of our divisions. The association is comprised of 7 divisions, each with their own elected councils.