OLA Indigenous Advisory Council


In 2015, OLA established the Indigenous Advisory Council, formerly the OLA Indigenous Task Group. The purpose of the Council is to:

  • Develop an OLA strategy to strengthen First Nation Libraries in Ontario. This includes raising awareness about the opportunities and challenges of accessing library services for First Nation people.
  • Ensure communities are aware of funding opportunities and other supports to establish libraries on reserve.

The Council works collaboratively and strategically with other organizations across Ontario and Canada to encourage and strengthen libraries that provide library services to Indigenous populations.

Current Committee Membership

Feather Maracle, Six Nations Public Library (Chair)

Kathleen Peters, Beausoleil First Nation Public Library

Carol Tyler, Nookomis, Guelph Public Library

Angel Maracle, Chiefs of Ontario

Andrew Wiebe, University of Toronto

Cora Coady, University of Toronto

M. McNaughton

Anastasia Shawnoo, Kettle and Stony Point First Nation Public Library

Shelley Merton, Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board

Richard Reid, Durham District School Board


Ex-Officio members

Michelle Arbuckle, Ontario Library Association
Lily Kwok, Ontario Library Association

Learn more