OLA Indigenous Advisory Committee


In 2015, OLA established the Indigenous Advisory Committee. The purpose of the Committee is to:

Develop an OLA strategy to strengthen First Nation Libraries in Ontario. This includes raising awareness about the opportunities and challenges of accessing library services for First Nation people.
Ensure communities are aware of funding opportunities and other supports to establish libraries on reserve.

The Commitee works collaboratively and strategically with other organizations across Ontario and Canada to encourage and strengthen libraries that provide library services to Indigenous populations.

Current Committee Membership

Feather Maracle, Six Nations Public Library (Chair) Kathleen Peters, Beausoleil First Nation Public Library Tiffany Miller, Confederation College Carol Tyler Alicia Kilgour, Niagara Falls Public Library Deanna Nebenionquit, Ontario Library Service – North Melanie Mulcaster, Peel District School Board Angel Maracle, Chiefs of Ontario and Ex-Officio members Shelagh Paterson, Ontario Library Association Sarah Roberts, Ontario Library Association

Learn more