Special Libraries Committee

The Ontario Library Association’s Special Libraries Committee (OLA-SLC) is a group of special librarians and non-traditional information professionals operating in smaller or lesser known library workplaces (beyond special exhibits or collections) that are not typically visible to the public. Members are dedicated to collaborating, promoting, and sharing the wealth of knowledge in our professional community in Ontario. They come from a diverse range of fields including librarians in government, entertainment, media, law, business and news, as well as research consultants, information specialists, knowledge workers, prospect researchers, and students.

The committee advocates for awareness of special libraries and their unique challenges, and provides opportunities for partnerships and community outreach by coordinating professional development events, special library and research tours, article nights, and community socials. The committee also supports the call for proposals for the Special Libraries stream at the OLA’s annual Super Conference. 


  • Natasha Kwiatkowski, ArcelorMittal Global R&D Hamilton
  • Mi Yoon, McMaster University

Alison Skyrme, Toronto Metropolitan University
Astrid Lange, Toronto Star
Christina Ransom, Access Copyright
Rebecca Efrat, 
Jordana Winegust, Kids Help Phone
Maggie Tiong, Toronto Rehabilitation Institute
Corrina Taccone, Ministry of Education
Gina Freitag, Ex-Officio, Ontario Library Association

Read the Committee’s Terms of Reference or contact Gina Freitag (gfreitag@accessola.com) for more information.

Visit the Special Libraries Committee website to find out more about the committee and the program/services they offer.